Looking For Alaska – Book Review

Hi everyone! I am surprisingly early but I was going through my old blog and decided to repost one of my blogs because it seemed like something many of you would enjoy reading. This is just an extra post for you book lovers out there!

Not every day is going to be filled with action-packed surprises and activities when you could just have a ‘lazy’ day and sit in bed reading books. That’s what I’m doing. I love reading, consider me a bit of a bookworm, so I love to pick up new finds and read from start to finish in one day although I’m treating this book a little differently…

‘Looking for Alaska’ is written by John Green (also the author of ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ , ‘Paper Towns’ and many others) and is most fitting to the Young Adult genre. 

What’s It About?

Miles Halter’s whole life has been one big non-event, until he meets Alaska Young. Gorgeous, clever and undoubtedly screwed-up, Alaska draws Miles into her world and irrevocably steals his heart. For Miles, nothing can ever be the same again. (blurb of hardback cover)

Why Read It?

It’s a classic John Green book where the characters are intelligent and unique whilst still being realistic and follows the story of Miles Halter while Alaska (some may argue that she is the main character) serves, in my opinion, as the catalyst for Miles’ change throughout the book. I haven’t given away any spoilers so if you are looking for something quite different from your average fantasy book – I would recommend this without any hesitation!

Favourite Quote

“If people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.” – I feel that this quote sums up the book in one because Miles is just a normal boy living his life who decides to move to a boarding school before Alaska comes into the picture and rocks his world; just like a hurricane would. 

If you are looking for a bit of adventure mixed in with romance, read this book & comment below if you have read or are reading this book now because I’d love to hear from you!

Lots of Love,

Lorinda X

Leave a Reply

